Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Moe

There are a lot of things to play this winter (at least on 360, Wii’s rest-of-year lineup is mediocre at best). It’s a little overwhelming, to be honest. I only have so much time, and while I have an inherent urge to play as many games as possible, I’ve found that the added stress of rushing through games ultimately drains a lot of fun out of the process.

With that in mind, I had a hard time picking out my next adventure. I was originally going to purchase Fallout 3, but I had second thoughts after reading some impressions. I thought Oblivion was utterly boring, and though it sounds like Bathesda’s latest is more to my liking, I’m not willing to take the risk when there are other games on the docket.

Left4Dead was next on the list, but as with The Orange Box, I’m having a hard time deciding which platform to buy the game for. I’m predominantly a Laptop user these days, and I imagine that the 360 experience will be more fulfilling (TV and comfy couch). Still, perhaps more so than other Valve games, the prospect of mods and official expansions for L4D is enough to make me pause – there will be some amazing stuff down the line, and I’m worried that Microsoft’s restrictions will keep a lot of that off of their console.

Still stuck in zombie limbo, I decided to take a chance on Prince of Persia. IGN gave it a glowing review last week, but since it’s still the only published review I can find, I’m taking that score with a grain of salt. Regardless, I loved Sands of Time (and really enjoyed The Two Thrones), and I’m willing to give the new game a chance. That the graphics are so gorgeous doesn’t hurt.

2 Responses to “Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Moe”


  1. 1 The Rail Splitter December 2, 2008 at 10:55 am

    It’s sad to see that you aren’t considering Big League Sports for the Wii. Very sad.

  2. 2 Geoff December 4, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Yeah, pretty shocking eh?


Leave a Reply

